Sailors of the Year – 2016


Front Row, left to right: C P O Jay Knox, P O 1 Chance A. Beckford, P O 1 William A. Morse, C P O John Sissons, Back Row, left to right: Commander Erik Franzen, Command Senior Chief Kirby Lee, Jeannie Brodeur (H&R Block), Jim DeLozier (USAA), Sel Ramsey (GPS Membership)

At the regular December meeting of the Grampaw Pettibone Squadron, affiliated with the Association of Naval Aviation, one of the highlights was the recognition of the “Sailor of the Year”. The Naval Weapons Station, Seal Beach, selected Petty Officer First Class William A. Morse as its Sailor of the Year. Also, the Navy Munitions Command CONUS, West Division Unit, Seal Beach, selected its Sailor of the Year to be Petty Officer First Class Chance A. Beckford. Commander Erik Franzen, Executive Officer, Naval Weapons Station, presented the Certificates of Achievement to both recipients. They also received certificates from Grampaw Pettibone Squadron, Commemorative Coins from Jim DeLozier, Force Master Chief/E9 (Ret) USN, USAA Field Representative. Jeanne M. Brodeur from H&R Block presented Gift Coupons for free tax returns to both recipients.

Throughout the year various local restaurants in Seal Beach have contributed gift certificates to Sailors of the Quarter and of the Year–Athens West, Avila’s El Ranchito Mexican Restaurant, Beachwood BBQ, The Crab Cooker (Newport Beach), Glory Days Beachside Grill, Hennessey’s Tavern, My Italian Kitchen, OMalley’s on Main, The Hangout, and Yucatan Grill.

All our members are encouraged to visit the restaurants who have contributed gift certificates. Let the manager know that we appreciate their generosity in donating gift certificates for the sailors of the quarter and sailors of the year.


About Author

Comments are closed.